Saturday, 26 May, 2007

Super XI sail into quarterfinals

Published May 17

B D Narayankar

KHADKI: In a day where 14 goals were scored by two separate teams in the All India Dr Ambedkar Memorial Hockey Tournament played at Ammunition Factory Ground on Wednesday, Super XI became the first team to storm into quarterfinals after convincingly beating Indian Sports Club (ISC) 7-0 in a one-sided game.

In yet another game, Vikram Pillay Sports Club (VPSC) knocked out Friends Union Club (B) 7-0. They will now play Poona City Police on Thursday, which is tipped to be a big game.

Super XI played quality hockey making brisk moves and creating opportunities to score by outpacing ISC defenders. Amar Kadam put Super XI ahead with a steaming hit into the goal through a penalty corner in the 4th minute and did not fail to repeat the feat in the 20th.

Today’s star was Super XI forward Rohidas Musale who scored four goals. He registered his first goal in the 8th minute on Santosh Musale’s pass. He again broke in, in the 17 minute, sprinting ahead and positioning himself, hitting the ball into the goal, leaving ISC goalkeeper wonder-struck.

Musale struck for the third and fourth time in 37th and 50th minute on Jitendra Chandy’s pass. The seventh goal was the best goal of the match that came when Srikant Bhokre hit a stinging goal from the left flank on a cross-flicked by Prashant Gokhale in 57th minute from the right flank.

ISC, on the other hand, had a bad day. Their forwards Amol Lokrey and Praveen Muthaiah miscued many shots in the D. They could not convert half chances into goals due to lack of coordination and passes. Their defense had holes and Super XI picked them up to their advantage.

Meanwhile, VPSC registered a stinging victory against FU. They outplayed their younger opponents without any difficulty.

Of the seven goals scored by VPSC, three were scored by S Navneet in 3rd, 23rd and 51st minute. Other goals were blazed in by Cyril Bernard 2, Dawood Ghadiyali and Alwyn Alexander.

SCORES: Super XI 7 (Rohidas Musale 4, Amar Kadam 2, Srikant Bhokre) bt ISC 0; VPSC 7 (Navneet 3, Cyril Bernard 2, Dawood Ghadiyali, Alwyn Alexander) bt FU ‘B’ 0.

No comments: